Welcome to the Pacific Coast Branch

The Pacific Coast Branch was organized in 1903 to serve members of the American Historical Association living in the Western States of the United States and the Western Provinces of Canada.

For more about the Pacific Coast Branch

News & Announcements

2016 Call for Papers

Uncharted Terrain: The Challenge of Re–Imagining Traveling to the Past

The meeting theme of re–imagining how we approach our investigation and writing of history across a diversity of contexts and destinations, as well as the accessibility and urgency of learning from history in our contemporary moment, captures our investment in sharing an inclusive, productive meeting with the widest audience possible. We therefore encourage submissions that interrogate and examine the expanse, research methodologies, travels, and futurity of generative approaches to re–envisioning how we investigate, write, and learn from history.

The deadline for submissions is December 4, 2015.

View the 2016 Call for Papers

2015 Prize & Award Winners

The Pacific Coast Branch of the American Historical Association congratulates the following PCB–AHA prize and award winners.

Pacific Historical Review Awards

The Louis Knott Koontz Memorial Award (most deserving contribution to the Pacific Historical Review, selected by the Board of Editors of the Review):

Kelly Lytle Hernandez, “Hobos in Heaven: Race, Incarceration, and the Rise of Los Angeles, 1880–1910” (August 2014, vol. 83, no. 3).

The W. Turrentine Jackson Prize (graduate student whose essay has been adjudged by the Editors of the Pacific Historical Review to be of outstanding quality):

Paul Hirsch, “‘This is Our Enemy’: The Writers’ War Board and Representations of Race in Comic Books, 1942–1945” (August 2014, vol. 83, no. 3).

Pacific Coast Branch Awards

The W. Turrentine Jackson Award (author of a dissertation judged to be the most outstanding on any aspect of the history of the American West in the twentieth century):

Megan Asaka, “The Unsettled City: Migration, Race, and the Making of Seattle’s Urban Landscape” (Yale University, 2014).

The Norris and Carol Hundley Award (best book published in history during a calendar year by a scholar living in the region served by the Branch):

Charles F. Walker, University of California, Davis, for: The Tupac Amaru Rebellion (Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 2014).

The Pacific Coast Branch Award (best book submitted by a scholar who resides in the states and provinces from which the Branch draws its membership, offered only for first books, and usually to younger scholars):

Abena Dove Osseo–Asare, University of California, Berkeley, for: Bitter Roots: The Search for Healing Plants in Africa (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2014).

For more about our Prizes and Awards