Skip to main content Skip to primary menu

About the Pacific Coast Branch

The Pacific Coast Branch was organized in 1903 to serve members of the American Historical Association …

Who We Are

The American Historical Association (AHA) is a nonprofit membership organization founded in 1884 and incorporated by Congress in 1889 for the promotion of historical studies, the collection and preservation of historical documents and artifacts, and the dissemination of historical research.

As the largest historical society in the United States, the AHA serves as the umbrella organization for historians. In this role, it conducts an active scholarly and professional program for historians interested in every period and geographical area. Among its 15,000 members are faculty at secondary schools and two– and four–year colleges and universities, independent historians, and historians in museums, historical organizations, libraries and archives, government, and other areas.

The Pacific Coast Branch (PCB) was organized in 1903 to serve members of the American Historical Association living in the Western States of the United States and the Western Provinces of Canada. All members of the AHA living in those areas, therefore, are also members of the Branch. Dues of the parent and branch association are handled by the Executive Director of the AHA, 400 A Street, S.E., Washington, D.C.

Independent of the AHA itself, the Pacific Coast Branch maintains business offices at: Department of History, Western Washington University, MS9061, 516 High Street, Bellingham, WA 98225.

The Pacific Coast Branch also publishes the Pacific Historical Review (PHR), which carries all information on Branch affairs. Individual subscribers of the PHR are also voting members of the PCB. Subscriptions to the Review are made through the Journals Division, University of California Press, Oakland, CA 94612.

Our Officers


  • President: Katherine Morrissey, University of Arizona
  • President–elect: Mary Elizabeth Berry, University of California, Berkeley
  • Executive Director: Kevin A. Leonard, Western Washington University
  • Managing Editor of the Pacific Historical Review: Marc Rodriguez, Portland State University


  • Ex-Officio: The President, President-Elect, Executive Director, and Managing Editor of the Pacific Historical Review
  • Former President: George J. Sánchez, University of Southern California
  • Former President: Anne F. Hyde, University of Oklahoma
  • Former President: David Igler, University of California, Irvine

Elected Members

  • Catherine Gudis, University of California, Riverside (2017)
  • Lorena Oropeza, University of California, Davis (2017)
  • Coll Thrush, University of British Columbia (2017)
  • Matthew Garcia, Arizona State University (2018)
  • Andy Kirk, University of Nevada Las Vegas (2018)
  • Janet Ward, University of Oklahoma (2018)
  • Chia Yin Hsu, Portland State University (2019)
  • Beverly Lemire, University of Alberta (2019)
  • Tara Travis, National Park Service (2019)

Nominations Committee

  • Matthew Basso, University of Utah (2017)
  • Erika Pérez, University of Arizona (2017)
  • Jennifer Seltz, Western Washington University (2017)
  • Anita Casavantes Bradford, University of California, Irvine, (2018)
  • Cecilia Tsu, University of California, Davis (2018)
Skip to main content Skip to primary navigation